Wednesday, January 29, 2014

The United Football League (UFL) Overview

The United Football League or UFL which used to be weekend league is now at the frontline of Philippine club football since 2009. The UFL was transitioned into a six-month long season, with two competitions and two divisions.

The launch of the UFL Cup in the latter part of 2009 became a springboard for the Philippines’ upgrade of local club football, and was used as the platform to select the League’s First and Second Division. The 16 clubs were distributed evenly between two divisions, competed in the inaugural League that followed. Philippine Air Force dominated that first season, winning both the Cup and League in convincing manner and was cheered on by local fans with vuvuzelas sounding like the contrabassoon.

In the current season, topping the First Division is Loyola Meralco Sparks FC. For the Second Division, Manila Jeepney FC. UFL matches are played Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays.

No comments: